GiraffeSpark

Giraffe Spark

Mental Health Peer Support Group

FJMC Webinar: NAMI, A Game Changer For Those Living With a Mental Health Condition

Wednesday, January 31, 2024
9pm ET • 8pm CT • 7pm MT • 6pm PT

Presented by Mary Madden
Executive Director, NAMI Southeast Wisconsin

Mary Madden will focus on providing resource information and practical next steps for anyone who is impacted by their own mental illness or that of a loved one.

Attendees will learn about support and education programs available for family members and other loved ones, as well as recovery support and education for those individuals living with a mental health condition, including how to find a local NAMI chapter in the United States.

Millions of people in the United States are affected by mental illness each year. It’s important to measure how common mental illness is, so we can understand its physical, social and financial impact — and so we can show that no one is alone. These numbers are also powerful tools for raising public awareness, stigma busting and advocating for better health care.

Fast Facts
1 in 5 U.S. adults experience mental illness each year
1 in 20 U.S. adults experience serious mental illness each year
1 in 6 U.S. youth aged 6-17 experience a mental health disorder each year
50% of all lifetime mental illness begins by age 14, and 75% by age 24
Suicide is the second leading cause of death among people aged 10-14

The National Alliance on Mental Illness of Southeast Wisconsin — serving Jefferson, Milwaukee and Waukesha counties — provides support, education and advocacy from a “live experience” perspective. We exist to ensure that no one is alone in his or her struggles with mental illness.

FJMC Webinars are offered free of charge to our members and guests. To help defray the administrative costs of this program, please consider making a donation to FJMC in honor of “Webinar Kudos.”

Leave a Comment

Shopping Cart